Take Me Out to the Ball Game!

Standard

Ah, baseball season is finally here! Ever since I was little, my family and siblings have loved watching baseball, and participated in the sport too. My sister and I played softball from a very young age up until sophomore year in high school and my brother played from t-ball to senior year in high school. It was sad when my sister and I stopped playing and when my brother went off to college; it was weird not going to a game almost every other day. We now watch and go to as many Braves games as we can afford and fit into our schedule. So yes, I am a baseball fan.

If I worked for the public relations team at one of the 30 major league teams and they weren’t doing so hot, I would really try to think of what the audience likes and what would get them to come out and support in such a desperate time. Being able to book popular artists to give a post-game show would be something I’m sure a lot of ‘on the edge’ fans would seriously consider. Even though their team is in a slump and they don’t want to attend games because of their record, they’re still fans and so they might go to a game where their favorite singer will be performing. Also, if the team was doing badly something that might entice more people to come, especially pet owners would be a “Bark in the Park” on Sunday games where you get to bring your dog with you. This would help because who would want to bring their dog at a game when the team is doing well and you’d rather watch it than have to keep up with and pay attention to your dog? One more way to get butts in the seats would be to have a “Tailgate of the Day” and give all who apart of it, free team t-shirts and $25 gift certificates to Kroger. It would get people pumped up and give them something to look forward to.

If the team was doing well I would suggest at certain games, in order to bring the families out and involved, have a “Children’s Day” where an hour before the game, kids 12 years old and younger can run the bases, watch the pre-game warm-ups, throw a couple pitches in the bullpen, and get the players autographs. Another way to keep sales high during a high point would be to say if you bought season tickets you get 33% off all food and drink purchases inside the stadium.

P.s.- GO BRAVOS!

About kathleenpbrown

Hello everyone! My name is Kathleen, I have a few friends that call me Kathy or Kat but that's about it, Kathleen is fine. A little bit about me... I just graduated from a two-year college in my hometown this summer with an Associates degree in General Studies and transferred to Georgia Southern this fall to pursue a bachelors degree in Public Relations, as of right now. I am a very down to earth person, somewhat shy at times, horrible with directions, and I love to hanging out with my family and friends and having a good time. I also enojoy attending concerts and watching football. (GO DAWGS!) I am very interested to see what this semester will teach me which will hopefully be very useful towards my career in the future.

7 responses »

  1. First off, your picture is so cute! I think that booking artists would be a great way to get people out to the games! Many people attend certain sporting events just for the music, so I think that is a great idea. I know that the Braves just did a Bark in the Park, and that is also another great idea. It gives people a different reason to come.

    • I love that picture. Browntown is precious. I think your idea of enticing people with great music is a good way to drag people out of the house. And, used similar ideas with incorporating children/families to join the fun.

  2. Pingback: Comments 4/26/12 « theprinceway

  3. Pingback: Blog Comments 13 « caitlinmcintosh

Leave a comment